The three retired professors
 Prof Victor Patrick Yao Gadzekpo
Rev. Prof. David Kwesi Dodoo
The three retired professors

School of Physical Sciences Honors Three Retired Professors

The School of Physical Sciences in collaboration with the Department of Chemistry has held a ceremony to honour three retired Professors of the Department for their years of remarkable service and contributions to the University.  The retirees are Prof. Francis Tayman, Professor of Organic Chemistry; Prof. Victor Yao Gadzekpo, Professor of Analytical Chemistry; and Rev. Prof. David Kwesi Dodoo, Professor of Environmental Chemistry.

During the ceremony, the Head of Department, Prof. Victor Atsu Barku, explained that the ceremony was organised to recognize the the three for their hard work, dedication and selfless service and commitment to duty.

He referred to a quote by Albert Pike, saying, “What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us, what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.” He noted that the retired professors had over the years distinguished themselves in their various leadership roles in the Department and the School.

Prof. Barku further explained that the Professors were part of the foundation builders and had provided a strong future for the current staff of the Chemistry Department. “They are the heart and hands of the Department upon which both students and staff continue to count their blessings and consolidate their successes,” he added.

Sharing some experiences and pieces of advice at the ceremony, Prof. Francis Tayman urged students to put away any fear of Chemistry and develop a love for the subject. He encouraged them to delve into more research to help develop the country.  He said, “for you to uplift the Chemistry Department, you must love Chemistry. If the country is to develop it will depend upon science and engineering.” Rev. Prof. David Kwesi Dodoo advised that although there would be setbacks, students should be persistent in their studies and research. “We have to stand up, face all the challenges, doing all we can for our country.” Prof. Victor Yao Gadzekpo expressed gratitude to the Department of Chemistry for honouring their work. He advised stakeholders to make Chemistry and science attractive for young people by creating job opportunities in the field of Chemistry. He urged young people to pick up a habit of reading to foster their researches in the field of Chemistry. “I wish to see more chemistry students going into policymaking to make decisions that also favour the study of Chemistry,” he added.

Citations of Honour and gifts were presented to the three retired professors.


Also present at the ceremony was the Dean of the School of Physical Sciences, Prof. Emmanuel K Essel, Vice Dean of the School of Physical Sciences, Prof. John Kwesi Bentum, Professors, faculty, staff and students.